Contact Us

Do You Know Which Praxis® Exams You Need to Take?

Blackboard Teaching vectors

If you are hoping to become a teacher, you have more than likely heard about the Praxis® test. It can be quite overwhelming to figure out what the Praxis® is and which test to take. In some cases, you will even need to take more than one test. Don’t worry, because we will help you figure it out!

In this article, we will tell you who needs to take the Praxis® test. We will also break down the different types of tests and sort out which one to choose. Each state has its own requirements for teacher testing. Some states might require one test, while other states might require more than one. We will help you determine which Praxis® test you need to take in your state. Then you can learn more about test registration and the preparation process.

Let’s get started so you can start studying!

What is the Praxis®?

Praxis® is not just one test, but dozens of tests that prospective educators might need to take. There are three categories of tests:

  • Praxis® Core Academic Skills for Educators: These test your skills in reading, writing, and mathematics.
  • Praxis® Subject Assessments: These test your knowledge about specific content.
  • Praxis® Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching tests: These test your understanding of specific content areas with a focus on elementary school education.

Each state has its own requirements for which tests teachers must take to be certified. Check with your school to find out when you should take the Praxis® test.

Who has to take the Praxis®?

More than 40 states and U.S. territories require teachers to pass at least one Praxis® test. If you live in one of these states or territories, chances are you will need to take a test before, during, or after your schooling. Some schools require you to take a test before being admitted into an education preparation program. In some cases you will need to take a test before graduating.

What Praxis® test do I have to take?

There are three types of Praxis® tests that prospective teachers can take:

  • Praxis® Core Academic Skills for Educators: These tests will assess your reading, writing, and mathematics skills. The Core consists of three separate tests. You can take one, two, or all three, depending on your school and state requirements. Many colleges and universities require that you take the Core exam before admission.
  • Praxis® Subject Assessments: These tests are subject-specific. Many states use these tests as a part of licensure requirements.
  • Praxis® Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching tests: These tests are for prospective elementary school teachers. They test your knowledge of mathematics, science, social studies, and reading and language arts.

Each state has its own test requirements for prospective teachers. Some states only use Praxis® tests for certain certification subjects. Below is a breakdown of state requirements:

Once you know which Praxis® test you need to take, you can start studying. For well-thought-out and comprehensive study guides along with practice tests and specific exam guides, visit 240 Tutoring.

Picture of: Kari Wasmer

Kari Wasmer

Kari is a microscopist at an environmental testing company, but her passion is science education. She has experience writing and editing science textbooks and loves helping educators understand how to implement the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). In her free time, she enjoys gardening with her young daughters, sewing, and knitting.